Monday, October 30, 2006

Christians ... please, keep your eyes open.*

Monday, October 30, 2006 3:31:56 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)

Firstly, for those of you that don't know, I'm a Christian. Ya sike? Good. Now onto the posT...

Lately, I've received about 4 invites with the subject "Join me on christianvibes.com". These invites have come from persons whom I consider are pretty legit and serious about their faith. So I browsed to the site to see this thing for myself.

When I got there, it honestly looked like a good site, no banners, no ads and it even gives pictures of its members, WITHOUT one logging in or anything. BUT, with pictures and emails and all this other documentation it holds on its members, surely there must be some Privacy Policy link... Hmm.. I don't see one. BUT, probably one can check the About Us link to find out more about this place/site/online community... Hmm.. I don't see one.

Ok Ok, enough with the fluff, now to the meat of this post.

ChristianVibes is one of the online networking sites, belonging to a Jamaican-based company called Vibesnetwork (Ref). This fact in itself is cool, a regional company doing their thing, great! BUT the interesting thing to me comes about when I find out that Vibesnetwork also own another networking site called SmutVibes. Upon browsing to this site (please don't do it at work), you'll see at the bottom some links for porn sites. Yes, that's correct, Porn Sites. Also, if you were to just skim through the slide show they have there on the main site, you'll see some rather, .. "questionable" photos (aka people in the nude - partially or entirely). Remember, I haven't even logged in, this stuff is viewable by the public at large.

Now I ask, Christians, is this cool with you? Are you willing to subscribe with a site that is run by people who support porn etc. etc.? It's surely NOT OK with me. I'll be giving that one a miss.

Also, one may want to research BigChurch.com, another Christian network site, before you take the plunge there as well. ;It has been reported that that's owned by the Friendfinder Network, an organisation which also owns Adult Friendfinder (don't view this site at work). It also has been reported that they own another site called Out Personals (a gay site; don't view this at work either).

Now you see why we as Christians need to keep our eyes open, and do the necessary research instead of just joining anything that crosses our paths. Come on people, we will know them by their fruit, remember? :)

PS.1. I refused to put a link to SmutVibes or Adult Friendfinder on my site, browse to them yourself if you so desire.

PS.2. If this link is 100% accurate, that is a sad.. story.

PS.3. I'm glad I don't have Google AdSense on here yet, if ever. I can't imagine how much and what type of ads that content above with the word "porn" in it would put on my site. Hmm, to think of it, I guess that's a limiting factor of Adsense, ie you can only put stuff on your site which you want ads relating to. Never thought of that... Interesting. I'm sure GLAD I'm NOT constrained! ;) (I'm not 100% sure that Google AdSense would bring back links on porn based on what I have in my content above, but, I think it would and I'm not up for taking that chance.)

PS.4. I hope I didn't come across too strong and offend you... it was not my intention, I just have very strong views on this topic.

Related posts:
You are the light of the world
Donating i.e. giving
Internet will run out of IP addresses by 2010
23 Ways to Use Tea
I confess! I'm un-normal!
WIG 2008 photos

Monday, October 30, 2006 9:22:08 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
Interesting. The question is, do the individuals in charge of the christian forum have any connection to the ones in charge of the "questionable" forum? It may just be a case of them (the individuals behind the site) associating with the company strictly for business or technical reasons. Or, the persons behind both sites may just be purely concerned with profits ... however they come.
Tuesday, October 31, 2006 12:47:31 AM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
Hmm... I figure profits. However, here the main thing is the fact that as Christians, I THINK, one should be rather concerned with things like this... Personally, I'm not sure it's 100% legit to be supporting or affiliating oneself with a company that has its hand in these other "cookie jars".
I'll keep my eyes on things though. You know me. :)
Jason Nurse
Tuesday, October 31, 2006 7:40:55 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
One of the things that you must do to have Google Adsense on your site is for your site not to contain pornographic material. Now, I'm pretty sure if your site does qualify for Adsense, putting the word 'porn' on your page wouldn't show porn ads (due to the fact that Google's clients are restricted from having pornographic content).
Tuesday, October 31, 2006 10:58:35 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
Ah bless, thanks for clarifying that for me Ramal, much appreciated. :)
Jason Nurse
Thursday, November 02, 2006 1:26:51 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
Someone made an interesting point regarding this particular post. If you research every company with questionable associations and boycott them all, you will quickly find yourself on the fast track to amish living. So, the question is ... where do you stop?
Thursday, November 02, 2006 2:34:17 PM (GMT Standard Time, UTC+00:00)
There may be some truth to that Sir and possibly the way to living is disassociating oneself entirely from everything one considers "not right". I don't know. However, in circumstances like this, where a co. on one hand is pushing a Christian networking site, then on the other is pushing a ... "Smutty" networking site, I think that is way over the line and Christians should be weary of signing up.

But that's just my humble opinion of course.
Jason Nurse
Comments are closed.